Concealed Weapons Permit in Miami
Our class is offered 7 days a week!
We understand your time is valuable and limited, therefore, we make attending our concealed weapons permit class in Miami, easy and convenient. We offer class 7 days a week at 9:00 am.
Things you'll learn...
▶︎ The firearm safety rules we must all follow to remain safe
▶︎ Proper firearm storage
▶︎ Using the correct ammunition in your firearm
▶︎ How ammunition works
▶︎ Proper firearm handling
▶︎ Firearm safety mechanisms, manual and internal
▶︎ Understanding single action, double action and striker-fire firearms
▶︎ How firearms function, a detailed, multi-media presentation
▶︎ How de-cocking devices and internal safety devices work
▶︎ Loading and unloading both revolvers and semi-automatic pistols
▶︎ Ammunition and its firing sequence
▶︎ Ammunition malfunctions, how recognize and properly address them
▶︎ Proper grip techniques
▶︎ Proper firing stances
▶︎ Eye and hand dominance
▶︎ Proper sight alignment
▶︎ Proper sight picture
▶︎ Proper trigger control
▶︎ How recoil works and how to properly manage it
▶︎ What is considered concealed carry vs transporting a firearm
▶︎ Where we can and cannot carry concealed
▶︎ When is lethal force justifiable and when it’s not
▶︎ How to properly interact with law enforcement and what to expect
▶︎ You will discharge 15-20 live cartridges from a firearm at a target
Upon completion of our concealed weapons permit class, you will receive a Certificate of Completion stating you have successfully completed our concealed weapons permit class and have demonstrated competency with a firearm by safely discharging a firearm with live ammunition in the presence of the instructor who conducted the concealed weapons permit class as required by FS 790.06. This is the proof of firearm training you will later submit to the state of Florida in order to apply for your concealed weapons permit.
How to apply...
WE’LL GO OVER THE DETAILS DURING CLASS:
During our concealed weapons permit class, first thing we will discuss in detail how to apply for your Florida concealed weapons permit in person with the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services regional offices so you have everything in order when applying for your concealed weapons permit.
A SIMPLE TWO STEP PROCESS:
1. Attend our concealed weapons class.
The state requires all Florida concealed weapon permit applicants to attend a firearm training class and demonstrate firearm safety by discharging a firearm in the presence of an NRA firearms instructor.
All students successfully completing our concealed weapons permit class will be issued the necessary firearm training certificate to be submitted to the state in order to apply for a concealed weapons permit.
2. APPLY FOR YOUR CONCEALED WEAPONS PERMIT THE FAST-TRACK WAY.
After attending our concealed weapons permit class, you’ll make an appointment to meet with the state in person, in their offices to apply for your concealed weapons permit. There, you’ll fill out your concealed weapons permit application on a computer, the state will take your fingerprints and passport photos for you as well as notarize your application for free inside their office. The state will electronically submit your paperwork to Tallahassee where it will land on the right persons desk who needs to review in it the first place to expedite the issuance of your permit.
STATE LICENSING FEE:
The State of Florida has a licensing fee of $97.00, this is the same fee that’s typically mailed out with your Florida concealed weapons permit application package however, it will instead be made payable when meeting in person with the state in their regional offices.
Licenses applied for electronically are typically issued in approximately 4-6 weeks. The time it takes to issue your permit is contingent on how many applicants there are at the same time.
THERE ARE FIVE BASIC REQUIREMENTS:
1. You must be at least 21 years of age to apply.
2. You must be either a US citizen or legal permanent US resident.
3. You must obtain a firearm training certification obtained by attending our Florida concealed weapons class.
4. You must pass a background check.
5. You will need to submit a copy of a certificate from one of he following courses to prove you are competent with a firearm;
- NRA training course.
- Any firearms safety course offered by a college, law enforcement agency, private or public institution, with instructors that are certified by the NRA, Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer services or Criminal Justice Training Commission.
- A firearms training course with a state certified instructor.
- Hunter safety courses that have been approved by the Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation Commission or by similar organizations in other states.
- Documents from participation in an organized shooting competition.
If you are on active duty you can submit a military order or a statement of military service signed by a personnel officer or commander. For former military personnel you can submit a DD form 214 for honorable discharge from military service.
States that honor the Florida CCW?
How Reciprocity Works in Florida
State statutes allow Florida to accept licenses from other states only if that state agrees to honor a Florida concealed carry license. Florida reciprocity law is governed by section 790.015 of the Florida statutes.
Florida currently has reciprocity agreements with 36 other states. A Florida concealed carry license is valid in all these states with a few exceptions as noted at the bottom of this section.
Firearms laws vary with each state and a Florida license holder will be subject to the laws of whatever state they are travelling in.
Resident Licenses Only:
Do not honor Florida concealed weapons permit
Minimum requirements to apply...
- Must be at least 21 years old
- You have completed an approved firearms training class
- You are a U.S. citizen or legal resident alien
- You must reside in the U.S.
- You do not have two or more DUI convictions within the previous 3 years
- No convictions for a violent crime in the last three years, either misdemeanor or felony
- Federal law requirements
You do not be a Florida resident to apply for a Florida concealed weapons permit. An out of state drivers license can be used for I.D. purposes.
These are the minimum requirements to qualify for a Florida concealed carry permit. Full requirement details for a concealed carry permit can be found on the application page.
Where can't I carry?
No carry allowed:
Any police, sheriff, or highway patrol station
Any detention facility, prison, or jail
Any courthouse or courtroom
Any polling place
Any meeting of the governing body of a county, public school district, municipality, or special district
Any meeting of the Legislature or a committee thereof
Any school, college, or professional athletic event not related to firearms
Any elementary or secondary school facility or administration building
Any portion of an establishment licensed to dispense alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises
Any area of a vocational-technical center
Any place of nuisance as defined in s. 823.05
Any college or university facility
Inside the passenger terminal and sterile area of any airport
Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.
Transport in my vehicle?
It is lawful for a person 21 years of age or older to possess a concealed firearm or other weapon for self-defense or other lawful purposes within the interior of a private vehicle, without a license, if the firearm or other weapon is securely encased or is otherwise not readily accessible for immediate use. “Securely encased” means in a glove compartment, whether or not locked; snapped in a holster; in a gun case, whether or not locked; in a zippered gun case; or in a closed box or container which requires a lid or cover to be opened for access.
Lawful Ownership, Possession, and Use of Firearms and Other Weapons
(5) Possession in Private Conveyance.–Notwithstanding subsection (2), it is lawful and is not a violation of s. 790.01 for a person 21 years of age or older to possess a concealed firearm or other weapon for self defense or other lawful purpose within the interior of a private conveyance, without a license, if the firearm or other weapon is securely encased or is otherwise not readily accessible for immediate use. Nothing herein contained prohibits the carrying of a legal firearm other than a handgun anywhere in a private conveyance when such firearm is being carried for a lawful use. Nothing herein contained shall be construed to authorize the carrying of a concealed firearm or other weapon on the person. This subsection shall be liberally construed in favor of the lawful use, ownership, and possession of firearms and other weapons, including lawful self-defense as provided in s. 776.012.
No weapons allowed sign?
Any “No Firearms” signage in Florida generally does not have the law behind it. Unless, the sign is posted in an area that falls within the Off-Limits law. The area must be specifically stated in the section of law as being off limits.
Even if the law does not backup a “No Firearms” sign you can still be arrested for trespass if you enter the property. So its best to not enter any property with such a sign posted.
Must inform law enforcement?
There is nothing in Florida gun laws that states you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when approached on official business. You are required by law to carry your permit, together with photo ID, at all times during which the permittee is in actual possession of a concealed handgun.
Open carry in Florida?
Open Carry is illegal in Florida even if you have a permit/license. Under section 790.25(3)(h)(j)(k) of the Florida statutes there are some limited situations were it is legal to open carry such as traveling to and being engaged in lawful target shooting, fishing, hunting, and camping.
Restaurants and/or bars?
You are not permitted under Florida law to carry in a bar area that serves alcohol. The law states that “any portion of an establishment that dispenses alcohol…. which is primarily devoted to such purpose”.
So it is widely interpreted in Florida to mean that you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol, as its primary purpose is to dispense food and not alcohol. However, if the restaurant has a bar area you cannot enter that area while carrying a firearm. And you certainly cannot enter a fully licensed bar. That is classed as a misdemeanor with a possible 60 days jail or $500 fine.
If the restaurant has posted a no firearms sign and you enter then you could be charged with armed trespass which is a felony.
Prohibited acts in Savannas State Reserve.
(1) It is unlawful for any person, except an on-duty law enforcement or conservation officer, to operate a vehicle or A.T.V. in the Savannas unless such person is using the provided ingress or egress to a private holding within the described boundary or using the vehicle or A.T.V. to transport a boat to a public boat www.handgunlaw.us 6 ramp accessible only through state reserve property, or unless the vehicle or A.T.V. is being used in conjunction with a permitted or supervised educational field trip, a wildlife survey, or state agency natural resources management activities.
(2) It is unlawful for any person, except a law enforcement or conservation officer, to have in his or her possession any firearm while within the Savannas except when in compliance with regulations established by the Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission applying to lands within the described boundaries.
(3) Any person who violates this section commits a misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.
State Parks: YES
State/National Forests: YES
State Game Management Units: YES
Road Side Rest Areas: YES
Possessing or Discharging Weapons or Firearms at a School-Sponsored Event or on School Property Prohibited; Penalties; Exceptions.—
(2)(a) A person shall not possess any firearm, electric weapon or device, destructive device, or other weapon as defined in s. 790.001(13), including a razor blade or box cutter, except as authorized in support of school-sanctioned activities, at a school-sponsored event or on the property of any school, school bus, or school bus stop; however, a person may carry a firearm:
3. In a vehicle pursuant to s. 790.25(5); except that school districts may adopt written and published policies that waive the exception in this subparagraph for purposes of student and campus parking privileges. For the purposes of this section, “school” means any preschool, elementary school, middle school, junior high school, secondary school, career center, or postsecondary school, whether public or nonpublic.
(1)(a) Except as authorized by law or as specifically authorized by the person in charge of each hospital providing mental health services under this part, it is unlawful to introduce into or upon the grounds of such hospital, or to take or attempt to take or send there from, any of the following articles, which are hereby declared to be contraband for the purposes of this section:
1. Any intoxicating beverage or beverage which causes or may cause an intoxicating effect;
2. Any controlled substance as defined in chapter 893; or
3. Any firearms or deadly weapon.
(b) It is unlawful to transmit to, or attempt to transmit to, or cause or attempt to cause to be transmitted to, or received by, any patient of any hospital providing mental health services under this part any article or thing declared by this section to be contraband, at any place which is outside of the grounds of such hospital, except as authorized by law or as specifically authorized by the person in charge of such hospital.
(2) A person who violates any provision of this section commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.
Inside the passenger terminal and sterile area of any airport, provided that no person shall be prohibited from carrying any legal firearm into the terminal, which firearm is encased for shipment for purposes of checking such firearm as baggage to be lawfully transported on any aircraft
Persons found in these areas without the proper permission are subject to the trespass provisions of ss. 810.08 and 810.09.
(b) The seaport must provide clear notice of the prohibition against possession of concealed weapons and other contraband material on the premises of the seaport. Any person in a restricted area who has in his or her possession a concealed weapon, or who operates or has possession or control of a vehicle in or upon which a concealed weapon is placed or stored, commits a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083. This paragraph does not apply to active-duty certified federal or state law enforcement personnel or persons so designated by the seaport director in writing.
Must carry license?
The licensee must carry the license, together with valid identification, at all times in which the licensee is in actual possession of a concealed weapon or firearm and must display both the license and proper identification upon demand by a law enforcement officer. Violations of the provisions of this subsection shall constitute a noncriminal violation with a penalty of $25, payable to the clerk of the court.
The laws on this page are not complete, they they are in no way meant to be legal counsel, advice or in any way an interpretation of law by any individual or party. The laws on this page have only presented as a very brief overview of the laws governing firearm ownership, use, transportation, carry and or the use of force. It is the sole responsibility for every applicant for a Florida concealed weapon or firearm license to familiarize him or herself with the laws governing the licensure they are applying for. If an applicant has specific questions or concerns regarding the laws governing firearm ownership, use, transportation, carry and or the use of force, it is highly recommended he or she contact a licensed attorney for legal counsel.
Things To Consider When Choosing A Class
Important things to consider when choosing a concealed weapons permit class
Will the class be conducted by an actual certified firearms instructor? Our concealed weapons permit firearms instructor conducts the class in person where interaction and questions are encouraged. Our class is not just a short firearm safety video class conducted by an uncertified person.
What will I learn in the concealed weapons permit in Miami class? You will feel comfortable and confident after attending our concealed weapons permit class. Check out our About The Class page for a detailed breakdown of what you’ll learn.
Will I qualify in the gun range with a firearm and live ammunition? Yes, all students must legally qualify in the gun range with an actual firearm and live ammunition as legally mandated by the state of Florida in FS 790.06 to apply for a Florida concealed weapons permit. We don’t use BB guns, laser guns, simmunitions or blank ammunition cartridges to qualify our students, it’s not what the state of Florida legally mandates and not what our students will use for self defense.
Is there an actual permanent business establishment? Yes, we do have a permanent business establishment. 1414 NW 107 Ave Suite 406B Miami, Fl 33172
Is the firearms instructor licensed and insured?
Our firearms instructor is licensed, insured and certified to teach the Florida concealed weapons class as well as defensive pistol, shotgun and rifle.
How often and when are classes offered?
We offer our concealed weapons permit in Miami class seven days a week because your time is valuable and limited. We make attending our concealed weapons permit class convenient.
Do I need to pay for the concealed weapons permit in Miami class upfront?
No, the class is paid after the class is completed.
How much is it to attend the concealed weapons permit class?
The cost to attend our concealed weapons permit class in Miami is $100. Everything you will need to attend our CCW class will be provided for you and is included in the cost of attending the class. There are no hidden fees.
Are credit cards accepted?
Frequently Asked Questions...
FLORIDA CONCEALED WEAPONS PERMIT IN MIAMI
When is the concealed weapons permit class offered? Our concealed weapons permit in Miami, class is offered seven days a week. Class begins at 9:00 am and you’ll be done with everything including the gun range qualification by approximately 1:00 pm.
How much does the concealed weapons permit class cost to attend? Our concealed weapons class cost is $100 to attend. In the cost, we will provide you with everything you will need to attend the class and qualify in the gun range. You just need to bring yourself and we’ll take care of all the details. The State of Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services has a licensing fee of $97.00, this fee is payable directly to the state when you apply for your Florida concealed weapons permit / firearm license in their offices.
How long is the concealed weapons permit class? Our concealed weapons permit in Miami class is 4 hours long.
Are weekend concealed weapon permit in Miami classes available? Yes
Are the Firearm Instructors NRA Certified, licensed and Insured? Yes, all of our Firearm Instructors are NRA Certified, licensed and have full liability insurance.
Does your instruction facility have a gun range? Our gun range is conveniently located four blocks East of our classroom.
Do I need to own and bring a firearm? No, you will not need to own or bring a firearm to the class. We will provide you with the highest quality loaned 9mm firearms (an H&K USP or an H&K P30) and the necessary ammunition to qualify with in the gun range. We will also provide you with proper eye and hearing protections as well as the required targets.
Are the gun range fees also included in the cost of attending the concealed weapons permit in Miami class? Yes, the gun range fees are included. There are no hidden fees.
Will I need to have my fingerprints taken at the police station? No, as a courtesy, the state of Florida’s Department of Agricultures Regional Office will take your fingerprints for you electronically inside their office at no extra cost to you.
Will I need to provide my own passport photos? No, as a courtesy, the state of Florida’s Department of Agricultures Regional Office will take your passport photos for you electronically inside their office at no extra cost to you.
Will I need to have my concealed weapons permit application notarized? As a courtesy, the state of Florida’s Department of Agricultures Regional Office will notarize your concealed weapons permit application for you inside their office at no extra cost to you.
Will I need to mail out my concealed weapons permit application? No, as a courtesy, the state of Florida’s Department of Agricultures Regional Office will electronically scan and submit all of your concealed weapons permit application documents for you inside their office at no extra cost to you.
How long will it take for my permit to be issued? By submitting your concealed weapons permit application electronically and in person, the issuance of your concealed weapons permit will be greatly expedited. It typically takes four to six weeks to receive your concealed weapons permit in the mail and often even sooner.
Are there any other fees involved with the concealed weapons permit in Miami class? Only the $97 licensing fee payable directly to the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. There are no other fees involved.
Do I need to pay for the class when I sign up? No, you may pay for the class upon arrival or you may pay when you sign up on line.
Do I need to sign up on line? No, You can simply give us a call and we’ll arrange everything for you over the phone.
Exactly where’s the concealed weapons permit in Miami class located? Our classroom is located: 1414 N.W. 107 Avenue Suite 406B Miami, Florida 33172 (We’re immediately across the street from International Mall in Doral) We’re also immediately right off the (826) and (836) Expressway and Florida Turnpike exits.
Can I attend the class without registering online or calling? We are by appointment only, we cannot accept walk in students. We want to make certain we can properly accommodate all our students and provide them with everything we promise to offer.
How old to I need to be to attend the concealed weapons permit in Miami class? To apply for a concealed weapons permit, you must be 21 years old. However, you may attend our class and become certified for a concealed weapons permit before the age of 21, you’ll just need to wait until your 21st birthday to apply for your permit.
What if I have an arrest record? If the arrest was traffic related or a DUI conviction not exceeding two within a 2 year period, it’s not a problem. If you have a criminal arrest, no matter how small or how long ago, even as juvenile, even if expunged, you will need to provide the state of Florida with a CERTIFIED CASE DISPOSITION for each arrest. You may apply for your permit without a certified case disposition however, it will delay the process and issuance of your permit.
Is there a test involved after the concealed weapons permit in Miami class? No, no test is required to be qualified for a Florida concealed weapons permit.
Will I need to take notes? No. However, we will provide you with pen and paper if you would like to do so.
Is there a numerical minimum qualification score when we qualify in the gun range? No, for concealed weapon permit classes, the state of Florida under the 790 statutes has stated, “the student must demonstrate the ability to discharge a firearm in a safe manner in the presence of an NRA certified or state licensed Firearms Instructor. There is no failing the firearm qualification unless the student is deemed to be unsafe in the use of firearms by the Firearms Instructor.
Can I take the concealed weapons permit in Miami class on line? No, although this is an information based class, there are too many hands on variables involved that simply make an on line class impossible. Imagine teaching and licensing someone to drive on line?
How long is a Florida concealed weapons permit valid? The Florida concealed weapons permit is valid for a period of 7 years. You will be notified with in a few months of its expiration to renew it. The renewal cost as of this date is, $65.
Do I need to apply for my permit immediately after attending the class? No, the certification you’ll be issued does not expire. You can submit the certification at any time to apply for your concealed weapons permit.
Do I need to be a U.S. permanent resident to apply for a permit? Yes, you’ll need to be a permanent U.S. resident to apply for a concealed weapons permit in Florida.
Can I apply for a permit having a work or travel visa? No, you’ll need to be a permanent U.S. resident to apply for a concealed weapons permit in Florida.
Do I need to be a Florida resident to apply for a permit? No, Florida will issue non-resident concealed weapon permits that are valid not only in Florida but in over 30 other states. Yes, you can live in another state and apply for a Florida concealed weapons permit.
How many states reciprocate (recognize and accept) the Florida concealed weapons license? As of this date, there are 34 states who reciprocate with Florida.
Can I open carry in the state of Florida? No, you may only carry a concealed weapon on or about your person provided you have a concealed weapons license. There are certain circumstances in where you can open carry… In your home, place of employment, while fishing or camping… nevertheless, use caution.
How old do I need to be to purchase a firearm in Florida? In Florida, 21 years of age for a hand gun and 18 years of age for a rifle or shotgun. However, the gun store may legally opt not to sell anyone under 21 years of age any firearm.
Can I cancel or reschedule at the last minute? Yes, since we offer class everyday and we comprehend that last minute things happen, you’re always welcome to reschedule to attend on a day that works better for you.
Can I carry a concealed weapon while I wait for my concealed weapons permit to arrive? No, in order to legally carry a concealed weapon in Florida, you must have your concealed weapons license and drivers license on your person.
Am I restricted to carry the specific firearm or kind of firearm I quailed with in the class? No, in Florida, you can legally carry any firearm provided that you can keep it concealed, “out of the plain sight of another individual”.
Does a concealed weapons license or certification from another state work to apply for a Florida license? Not always, not in most cases. Please call the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Licensing Division to inquire directly (850) 245-5691
Must I legally register my firearms? No, In Florida, firearm registration does not exist.
Do I need a license to purchase a firearm in Florida? No, to purchase a firearm in Florida, you select the firearm you want to purchase, you fill out an ATF 4473 form, you pay for the firearm and an instant background check is performed by the Federal Firearms Licensed dealer (the gun shop). Provided you pass the background check, if you do not have a concealed weapon or firearm license, you’ll need to wait 3 days or 5 days in Miami-Dade county to pick up the firearm and take it home. If you have a concealed weapon or firearm license and provided you pass the background check, you’ll be taking the firearm home that same day. If you purchase the firearm privately (from someone) there’s no waiting period or background check required. There’s also no documentation of the sale legally required although, it will be a good idea to get a bill of sale for both parties to keep (does not need to be notarized).
Are laws governing concealed weapons covered during the class? No, all firearm instructors are not attorneys and therefore cannot represent themselves as attorneys. Instruction and/or offering legal advice about the law is considered, “practicing law without a license and is a felony crime”. However, the firearms instructor does offer examples about where we can and cannot carry, imminent danger, incident assessment, situational avoidance and incident de-escalation as well as how to properly interact with law enforcement while carrying. Knowing and staying up to date with current law is every students sole responsibility.
Are there any circumstances in where I wouldn’t be allowed to attend this class? If you’re a convicted felon who has had his civil and gun rights taken away and are not legally allowed to handle or posses firearm and/or ammunition. We do teach handicap use of firearms however, any physical limitation in where you would not be able to on your own, properly handle, load, discharge and unload a firearm in a safe manner.
If you have any questions, please give us a call and we’ll be happy to assist you (305) 282-4486
What’s included in the Cost of Our Concealed Weapons Permit Class:
There are no hidden fees, everything you’ll need to complete the class will be provided for you.
▶︎ A loaned 9mm firearm to qualify with in the gun range
▶︎ The necessary ammunition and shooting target
▶︎ The proper eye and hearing protection
▶︎ The gun range fees are also included in the cost of attending our class
There is NO DEPOSIT REQUIRED to reserve a seat to attend our concealed weapons permit class. You can reserve a seat right now and pay after completing the class on the day you attend.
We make attending our concealed weapons permit class, super easy and simple.
How to Apply for a Florida Concealed Weapons Permit?:
During the class, we will first discuss how to apply for your Florida concealed weapons permit in person and electronically with the state office. By applying in person with the state, the issuance of your concealed weapons permit will be fast-tracked (expedited). At the state office, your passport photos and finger prints will be taken at no cost to you.
After completing our concealed weapons permit class, we will issue each student a concealed weapons firearm training certification. This certification is the proof of firearm training the state of Florida will require all concealed weapon permit applicants to submit with their applications when applying.
We’re located across the street from International Mall in Doral 1414 N.W. 107 Avenue Suite 409 Miami, Florida 33172