Florida Concealed Weapons Permit
Florida Concealed Weapons Permit
In regards to Florida concealed weapon license issuance, Out of the 50 states, there are 40 “shall issue” states, 9 of the states are “may issue” states and there’s one state, Illinois that is a “no issue” state. Florida is a “shall issue state”, this means, a reason for requesting and being issued a Florida concealed weapons permit is not required. The 9 “may issue” states require a good reason behind applying for and being issued a Florida concealed carry license.
Anyone can apply for a Florida concealed weapons permit, even out of state residents can apply. You don’t necessarily need to live in Florida to apply for and be issued a Florida concealed carry license.
Concealed Weapons Class and Application Process
To begin the process of getting a concealed weapons permit you must attend a concealed weapons class. Apply here for a Florida concealed weapons permit Florida concealed carry license, the applicant must be at least 21 years of age and must first attend a Florida concealed weapons class and demonstrate that he or she can safely handle a firearm by safely loading, firing live cartridges at an authorized gun range and unloading the firearm in the presence of a certified firearms instructor. During this Florida concealed carry class, the applicant will learn firearm safety, handling, storage and use as well as the responsibilities associated with gun ownership and laws. After the Florida concealed carry class, the applicant must submit his application to the Florida Department of Agriculture, Division of Licensing in Tallahassee. There, the application package will be reviewed and a NICS background check will be performed. Contingent the applicant having no felony convictions within the last 3 years and has his or her gun rights, a concealed carry license will be issued to the applicant.
A Florida concealed weapons permit looks similar to a drivers license, it has the permit holders photograph, name and permit number however, it contains no other information as it’s not public information and is therefore held confidential.
Processing time for a Florida concealed weapons permit varies contingent how it was submitted. If the Florida concealed carry license application is mailed in with the certificate from the Florida concealed carry class, it could take 4 to 6 months to be issued a Florida concealed weapons permit. However, by applying in person, time is saved. By applying in person for your Florida concealed carry license, the time to be issued a Florida concealed carry license is cut down dramatically. By applying for your Florida concealed carry license in person, your license will be issued in as little as 10 business days since everything will be done electronically thus avoiding the hundreds of hands that typically handle your application package needlessly. It doesn’t cost any extra to have your Florida concealed weapons class certification and application sent to Tallahassee electronically, it’s the same $112.00 application processing fee. In fact, you save money, by applying for your Florida concealed carry license electronically, your fingerprints and passport photos will be taken and processed electronically at no extra cost to you.
Before 1987, each county in the state was responsible for determining who to issue concealed weapon permits to. This became unbelievably confusing as each county had it’s own issuance criteria and the laws varied from county to county and often from city to city. There was also no Florida concealed carry class required. Since 1987, The Florida Department of Agriculture, Division of Licensing has been the designated agency to issue concealed weapon permits in the State of Florida. This has made the issuance of concealed weapon permits and the laws pertaining to them uniform for the whole state. Florida decided to impose uniform firearm training classes called, the Florida concealed carry class in 1987 to make certain all Florida concealed carry license applicants were versed in firearm safety.
The Florida concealed carry license will be valid for a period of 7 years, no other state is valid for 7 years. To renew a Florida concealed carry license, there’s no need to attend a Florida concealed weapons class again. the certification received during the initial Florida concealed carry class is good for ever. One simply needs to submit a new passport photo, a check or money order for $60.00 and a renewal application to the Florida Department of Agriculture, Division of Licensing in Tallahassee and a your Florid concealed carry license will be renewed for another 7 years.
If you move to a new address or change your name, you must notify the Florida Department of Agriculture, Division of Licensing within 30 days. If you loose your Florida concealed weapons permit, you can obtain a new card by contacting the Florida Department of Agriculture, Division of Licensing and paying $15.00.
In Florida, when you carry a concealed weapon, Informing law enforcement of carry isn’t required however, informing law enforcement is required upon demand.
Automobile carry in Florida, you may carry your weapon on you in a concealed manner or in a securely encased state.
Places off-limits when carrying:
1. Any place of nuisance as defined in s. 823.05
2. Any police, sheriff, or highway patrol station
3. Any detention facility, prison, or jail; any courthouse
4. Any courtroom
5. any polling place
6. any meeting of the governing body of a county, public school district, municipality, or special district
7. any meeting of the Legislature or a committee thereof
8. any school, college, or professional athletic event not related to firearms
9. any school administration building
10. any portion of an establishment licensed to dispense alcoholic beverages for consumption*
11. Any elementary or secondary school facility
12. Any area technical center
13. any college or university facility
14. Inside the passenger terminal and sterile area of any airport
15. Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law
Alcohol and Drugs:
Deadly Force / Castle Doctrine:
Florida is a Castle Doctrine state and does have a stand-your-ground law.
Prohibited in all public areas.
Localities with Varying Laws:
Florida has pre-emption, localities are prohibited from enacting more